National Public Trust

In carrying its various corporate social responsibility (“CSR”) initiatives, Khazanah Nasional has always focused on sustainability of these initiatives in the longer term.

When the idea of the Taman Tugu park was first motioned, it came with the condition that the Taman Tugu park should be protected into perpetuity.

Khazanah’s proposal was approved by the Malaysian Economic Council in September 2015 and subsequently by the Malaysian Cabinet in July 2016 – the approvals ensures that the park component of the Taman Tugu Project will be transferred into a public trust and reserved as a public green space into perpetuity.

As at July 2018, the Trust, Amanah Warisan Negara (“AWAN”) or National Heritage Trust has officially been established under the Trustees Incorporation Act (1952). AWAN is a national public trust incorporated with a longer term objective of undertaking more projects that involve the rejuvenation, rehabilitation and/or operations of selected public spaces together with heritage assets of national significance – as inspired by the National Trust for Places of Historic Interest or Natural Beauty or commonly known as the National Trust UK.

We are now working with the relevant ministries on the transfer of the 66-acre Taman Tugu site into AWAN to be managed and protected into perpetuity as a public green space, and to develop a New Act to better govern AWAN.

AWAN’s Board of Trustees are formally appointed by Khazanah Nasional as Founder of the Trust. A management body under the Trust will be appointed to manage day-to-day operations, oversee the maintenance and drive fund raising activities for the upkeep of the park and other assets in the future. It is the intent of the Founder that the Trust will strive to be self-sustaining, relying less on the Founder such that it will eventually operate as an independent public trust.

Immediate roles of this Public Trust:

1To own the land, buildings and assets (facilities) within Taman Tugu; and


2To manage (operate), monitor and maintain Taman Tugu.

Founding Board of Trustees are:

  1. Chairman:
    • Tan Sri Datuk Wira Azman Hj. Mokhtar (resigned 31st July 2018)
    • Tan Sri Shahril Ridza Ridzuan (resigned 15th August 2021)
    • Dato’ Amirul Feisal Wan Zahir
  2. YAM Tunku Ali Redhauddin Ibni Tuanku Muhriz
  3. Tan Sri Zarinah Anwar


Chairman of AWAN at Taman Tugu


Trustees site inspection